Fleecitations

Fleecitations

Oil on Canvas

42″X 30″

Framed $1800   (www.stageone.adahost.com)

This painting is one of my favorite works.  A few years ago I would “keep”  my brother’s farm in Horsepasture, Va. while he and his wife were away at fiber festivals.  They raised sheep and my sister-in-law was, or rather, is a guru when it comes to anything to do with wool and other fibers.  She taught workshops in spinning, weaving, dying yarns, and knitting. I would watch over their small herd of sheep while house sitting. I soon looked forward to seeing them on each visit to the farm and realized I had made a needed connection with these grazing animals.  They would come to greet me when I approached the gate to the paddock and seemed to be saying “Greetings, friend”.  This painting was done from a snapshot of some friendly lambs and sheep from other snapshots were used in the composition. The snapshots had strong shadows and I kept them because I liked doing a composition using the glare of backlighting.

~ by Sandra Lynn Gray on June 24, 2007.

One Response to “Fleecitations”

  1. Definitely one of my all-time favorites – it should have a comment.

Leave a Reply

 
