Napoleon from Animal Farm

Napoleon from Animal Farm

Watercolor and Ink   (www.stageone.adahost.com)

When Steve Umberger, one of the first artistic directors at the Children’s Theatre of Charlotte decided to do a musical version of George Orwell’s Animal Farm, he needed a series of slides of the realistic animal to show the children what the actor was playing. I painted these farmyard animals to be photographed and made into slides for the show.  They were used in the show and, after it closed,  I kept all the originals except for one that Mr Umberger owns. I especially love the pigs.

~ by Sandra Lynn Gray on June 30, 2007.

3 Responses to “Napoleon from Animal Farm”

  1. I’m really surprised at how much I like this. It helps knowing that it’s a sentient and literary pig. He looks like a pig with a lot of character, with something to say. Plus I like the orange, and the watercolor workings really – well I like what they do whatever it is. Sometimes I prefer not to over-analyze art. 🙂

  2. I like this looks like napoleon was very fat and mean

  3. He looks still in his ‘original’ state, that is, still a pig. However, the world around him appears to be in chaos, just like after he got rid of Snowball. The color used in the painting is vibrant and bright, and darker around his body. I love animal farm, communism, soviets, and nappy.

Leave a Reply

 
