New York Ironweed

New York Ironweed

Photo by George Gray

The photos until now have been mine except for one of me and maybe one other….. but, after this trip, my husband really got into photographing wildflowers too.  So I am trying to give him his due credit. I saw this large magenta ironweed called New York Ironweed in one book so am calling it that.  I may be wrong about it and will take any corrections from visitors to my blog.  This was the time of year for ironweed and, along with its companion, purple Joe-Pye-Weed, it lined the road banks and filled the meadows.

~ by Sandra Lynn Gray on August 13, 2007.

One Response to “New York Ironweed”

  1. Dear Sandra, You are correct this is NY Ironweed. I am working on a painting of some growing in a “wild are” of the Cornell U arboretum.
    I also found it in several vintage wild flower books. Carol An Holland, Ithaca NY

Leave a Reply

 
