Spotted Knapweed in Big Meadow

Spotted Knapweed or Spotted Star Thistle 6

Photo by George Gray

Spotted Knapweed or Spotted Star Thistle

Centaurea macaluosa

This little flower is not a Thistle but is in the Sunflower Family (Asteracceae). It is another European immigrant and loves poor soil. Another name is Batchelor Button and it is also related to different blooming plant called Batchelor Button. Confused?  I readily confess I am looking up these botanical names and borrowing information from my father’s old botany manuals. I wasn’t being so thorough until I saw that other flower enthusiasts are doing it so I am joining in.

~ by Sandra Lynn Gray on September 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
