Can Can Can

Can Can Can

Oil on Canvas

16×20

Sold

Here is a more abstracted piece with figures dancing.  The motion represents the dance of life that women do.  I was a young mother during the 70’s so missed the bra burning etc but was feeling a bit repressed during the 60’s and was sympathetic to the cause.  I am glad they won some victories for my daughter and son to enjoy. My husband named the piece.  It has a very feminist name.  I don’t think about feminist issues a lot.  I can thank the women who did the fighting. The painting was bought by a member of the art directors crew for the film Gospel Hill .

~ by Sandra Lynn Gray on October 8, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
