Cradle of Civilization

Cradle of Civilizaton

Acrylic collage

4X6 inches

Here is another little piece of self expression and, again, I am expressing my thoughts of Iraq.  This doesn’t have a poet of ancient Persia (now Iran)  for an inspiration but it is still a statement of respect (from the great distance of the American Southland) to the peoples of Iraq.  May the future hold, for you, a peaceful land for your children to thrive in and may you one day restore its beauty so that the the world can come and admire it.

~ by Sandra Lynn Gray on October 29, 2007.

4 Responses to “Cradle of Civilization”

  1. My initial instinct is to be so moved by your compassion. The texture is amazing – but seems to speak of a striken landscape. And the blues – they remind me of tears – but so many of them – the tears of many? This goes for both of your pieces. I’m amazed really so many blues, and the red how stark and out of place it looks – like blood of course. What I love the most is how it seems like every blue has been utilized here… After looking at your piece I wish peace for them too. Thank you for sharing your compassion and offering it up to the viewer as well.

  2. I keep coming back to this piece. I love the contrast of the darks and lights and the depth and layers to it…which is how life is don’t you think?
    I read somewhere that it is the darkness that makes us appreciate the light. To me this piece sums that up. Hopefully, there will be peace soon…light again, at least for a while, until the darkness comes again as it always does in our universe.
    I am looking forward to seeing more of your beautiful creations…whether it be paintings, photographs, or your words….
    Namaste’,
    ~suz

  3. Thanks for your astute and heartfelt comments. They mean lot, don’t they?

  4. What a beautiful tribute… if only the people of Iraq (and others!) could see this. I think that it holds the power of healing.

Leave a Reply

 
