George A Gray died January 1, 2008

Papa George in his Youth

Photo

My father-in-law, for whom my husband was named, gave up his battle with death and slipped quietly away into the early morning light of New Years Day 2008.  My husband and I and a few others of his immediate family had spent New Year’s Eve at his bedside and keeping company with each other for comfort. An experienced Hospice nurse told the family she had never seen anyone cling to life as he had.  A week or two before Christmas, he was not expected to live through each new day and yet he did.  He was tough and stubborn and liked to be in control of his life. These were characteristics of a strong man who was full of wisdom. At his 90th birthday party on Nov 30 (for which I posted a report on wordpress), he showed me his innate gentility, poise, and aplomb with his social graces and deportment.  Though he had guests numbering nearly 200 he was at ease and gracious to them all.  Considering his condition, I was awestruck.  My admiration for him overwhelmed me. His family has been heroic.  I do not exclude myself from his family because I have been a member of it for 42 years but I speak of his wife and the two children he raised.  They showed him such love and devotion through this long ordeal that consumed the holiday season. His death was a relief but it will leave a hole in the family that will be a loss to us all. I am posting a picture of him taken in his youth when he was in his prime, full of promise and with a full life ahead of him.

~ by Sandra Lynn Gray on January 1, 2008.

8 Responses to “George A Gray died January 1, 2008”

  1. sorry for your loss. my prayers are with y’all

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry, Nouveau Fauves. My thoughts are with you and your family at this sad time. He sounds as though he was a true gentleman.
    Amy
    xx

  3. It sounds like he lived a good and honorable life…may we all do the same! How wonderful that all of you were able to be there to share his final moments in this world.

    Peace and love to you and yours in 2008!

    ~gypsy-heart (aka suz)

  4. I’m sorry for your loss. It’s sad to lose such a man, but a life of 90 years for a good man is also something to celebrate.

  5. Thank you all so much. You are kind and wonderful people.

  6. I am sorry to hear of your loss, but what a great journey you all have been on.

    George A Gray – your father-in-law sounds like such a strong and honorble man, one who was loved and touched by a lot of people, just as he loved and touched.

    It is like he was hanging on – to start his new journey with the new year – like a new page in a new notebook he will live on in the memories of his loved ones.

    My very best to you and your family!

  7. thanks for your kind words, truddle

  8. I am sadden with the lost such a great man. I wish I had been more in touch with the family as when I was little and played in George’s office with Mama Gray. I remember as it was today. I have always admired George A. Gray. He was a great man and one others would want to be. In this time remember that we will meet again. God bless all the family and would love to hear from any.

Leave a Reply

 
