May Apples in the Weeds

Here is another delicate little woodland beauty struggling in my weedy yard. I had gone out to photograph the Yellow Trillium and discovered the Blue Phlox and May Apples. The trillium pictures were not clear so I will try again tomorrow but these plants, now in a wrong location, tugged at my heart. They should be deep in a cool wood. I was once a great gardener but can’t seem to get myself into the yard and do much with it anymore or I would have rescued them from the weeds and moved them to a less overgrown area. I wonder if this is what happened to my Dad’s botanical garden when the new owners took over. They did not know wild flowers. How could they care for them?

~ by Sandra Lynn Gray on April 12, 2008.

3 Responses to “May Apples in the Weeds”

  1. The Mayapples do look a bit pale in the sun. But, hey – you have SUN! 🙂 I can’t imagine having trillium in my own yard – what a treat to walk outside and be able to see them.

  2. Sun is good but after the exceptional drought and water restrictions we had this year, every drop of rain is to be celebrated. If nothing else, it washes my car when the city has banned car washing for a year. Then, after we all saved so much water, the water department was not getting the revenues needed so they zapped us with at rate increase. They get you coming and going.

  3. Well…I like the new look here, and the fact that you are creating again!
    These images are lovely.

    Thank you for sharing them with us!

Leave a Reply

 
